# South Carolina First Steps to School Readiness Executive Committee March 14, 2016 Minutes

<u>Members Present (6)</u>: Ken Wingate Alexia Newman Judith Aughtry Jennifer McConnell Senator Mike Fair Roger Pryor

<u>Members Absent (1)</u>: Julie Hussey

<u>Other Present (3)</u>: Julia-Ellen Davis Dan Wuori Mark Barnes

Mr. Wingate called the committee to order at 2:03pm. He led the committee through a review of the March 17, 2016 Board agenda.

Mr. Wingate introduced a proposed change to the Board's committee structure, reassigning agency representatives to an Interagency Collaboration Committee and limiting the service of lawmakers to the Board's Legislative Committee. These changes are designed to involve lawmakers and agency heads in substantive discussions designed to advance the mission of First Steps, while better ensuring a regular voting quorum on the Board's remaining committees. Upon a motion by Mr. Wingate and a second by Ms. McConnell the committee unanimously adopted the proposal as its recommendation to the Board.

There being no further business, the committee adjourned at 2:35pm.

#### **Draft Committee Structure for Discussion**

(NEW) Interagency Collaboration Committee:

Ken Wingate, First Steps, Chair Superintendent Molly Spearman Christian Soura, DHHS Susan Alford, DSS Catherine Heigel, DHEC Beverly Buscemi, DDSN Sue Williams, Children's Trust Mary Lynne Diggs, Head Start Collaboration Office

Legislative Committee: Senator Mike Fair, Chair Senator Gerald Malloy Representative Rita Allison Representative Jerry Govan

### Finance and Administration Committee: Judith Aughtry, Chair Tim Holt Walter Flemming Rick Noble Kathryn Burkhalter

### <u>Strategic Planning and Evaluation Committee</u>: Alexia Newman, Chair Tracy Lamb Amy Williams

# <u>Program and Grants Committee</u>: Jennifer McConnell Evelyn Patterson Roger Pryor Julie Hussey

#### Early Head Start Governance Council:

Roger Pryor, Chair Julie Hussey Jennifer McConnell Amy Williams Walter Fleming Candi Lalonde\* Ellen Still\*

# Executive Committee:

Ken Wingate Julie Hussey Alexia Newman Senator Mike Fair Judith Aughtry Roger Pryor